The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

The Difference

In speaking with people regarding entertainment, I noticed that a number of them mention that they do not care for forms which have messages in them.  So many things, hear and watch we read have an agenda attached.  Tired of the pandering, many people have turned to less cerebral media, hoping to avoid those who seek to change their mind on matters of the heart which they already settled on.

So what will make my writings different?

Well, for starters, my agenda is not hidden.  From my pen name, “JCServant”, through the closing remarks on anything I do, I make it crystal clear that I follow the Lord of the Bible and seek to glorify Him through my efforts.  Second, I act independently.  I have no ties with any religious or political organization; outside of those I have created myself, by God’s grace.  Therefore, no man behind the curtain pulls the strings.  Everything you see comes directly from my own mind and heart. This also means I have no political agenda.  I simply want to glorify my Lord.  If my works draw you closer to God, or encourage you to do also glorify God through your talents, than that, of course, makes me quite happy.  However, it is not a pre-requisite for what I do.

Finally, I write from experience, as one who has walked an imperfect walk with God for two decades and still learns something new everyday.  My works will reflect such, rather than be filled with hypotheticals.  Of course my stories will feature fantastic situations, but the people in the stories will be quite realistic.  They will have faith, but they will falter, fail, doubt and question just like any Christian.  The Bible does a very excellent job of showing the ‘saints’ as very real, fallible people, and I intend to follow that pattern.  I believe this approach will show my audience that I respect their intelligence.

So, there is an agenda, but it is not hidden.  If that agenda offends you, then we can agree to disagree and you can stop reading here.  Like any entertainer, I fancy the idea of having hordes of people reading my works.  However, I do what I do in order to glorify God first.  And if that offends every person on the planet to the point where not a single one reads what I have so carefully, and painfully, written — then so be it.

Leave a Reply

