The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

Setting Goals

Salutations!

It’s not unusual to hear about New Year’s Resolutions.  I think they are a novel idea.  However, for me as a Christian and a professional, setting goals is something I like to do year round.  I do so to push myself further.  The Bible says,

The Need for Self-Discipline

1Cor 9:24 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. 25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.

 

As I review the last few years, I see a lot of short comings in my life.  Many times over, I have broken the heart of God, and hurt those around me.   Even after years of following God, and seeing much improvement in some important areas, I still have so much further to go.  Discipline, hard work, determination and training are required.

Evaluating one’s weaknesses, and creating plans to address them (especially in spiritual matters) are the important first steps to run the race.  Next, we must focus on actually reaching for those goals day after day.  Of course, most people stumble there, usually only a few days out of the gate.  I believe, however, that those who are successful are those who get back up and press forward.

In the spiritual world, the Holy Spirit empowers us to do just that when we fall.  Bob Carlisle’s song, “We Fall Down” reminds me of that fact.

So, tomorrow, time permitting I will begin working on those resolutions.  And, I will be sharing them right here!

Leave a Reply

