The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

This Is My Story, Part 1

So…here’s my history… in a capsule format.

When I was a wee lad (around 15), I knew that there had to be more to life.  For the most part, I grew up in a good home.  However, my parents seemed agnostic, and spoke about God very little. While we were happy, more or less, I knew that there I was missing something important in my life.  I had heard about God, and had been exposed to church services from time to time, but I wanted to know more.

So, I went to the school library, and did a lot of research into numerous religions.  While the research was hardly exhaustive by any means, I was able to compare and contrast a number of the world religions.

Over time, I began to see similarities in most of them.  Most religions I studied, such as Mormonism or Islam, built up a prophet or a man.  Most religions, including Catholicism, focused on the authority of a church or other organization to be over groups of men.  Many of them favored man above women, giving him rights to marry multiple women, and commanding her to be submissive.  Many religions stressed that by deeds, or a combination of faith and deeds could we be reconciled.

Only one religion pointed squarely to God from beginning to end.  Only one religion stated, unequivocally, that God was the ‘head’ in a position over our lives that no man or organization could truly replace.  Only one faith showed that all men and women were equal in His sight calling for all to submit to one another in love.  Only one showed me that freedom came through the redemptive work of God himself, and not some effort on my own part.  Where every other religion was about man reaching out to God, the faith of the Bible was about God reaching out towards man.

So, I gave my life to Jesus Christ, and it has never been the same.

I know to some, this sounds really hokey or something…but seriously, it was the truth for me.  I met God and became a Christian because I knew there was more to this life than just living and dying… and to get there, I did good ol’ fashioned research.  As the Bible says, “Seek and you will find.”  That’s exactly what happened to me.

Leave a Reply

