The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

365 x 1 = 9

Salutations.

I apologize for being gone for a bit. Life has been super hectic lately, and finding the right balance in life has escaped me. With work, exercise, socializing, studying the Bible, doing the chores and spending time with my wife, where does one find time to write an epic novel?

In praying about it, a few inpiring thoughts came to me. Perhaps, they will inspire you, as well.

First, I heard the song, “Here I am” by Downhere. In the song, the artists says “Somehow my story is a part of your plan.” Now, this probably refers to his personal story, of course…but why would this not apply to stories that God has put on my heart to tell others in order to convey His truth? I can’t think of any. It’s worth checking out at any rate. I found it quite inspirational.

Next, is the book by David Weiss, a friend of mine. Running AMOK is a collection of short, inspirational musings that can help get your creativity for God really flowing. You can grab it for the Kindle for only a few bucks (I read mine through a Kindle app on my phone). These short musings are perfect for someone who’s life is on the go.

One of the chapters, “Tell the Story,” Dave recounts how the movie, “The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader,” really impressed him with its ability to convey a Christian message without being cheesy or preachy. I share his passion to modern day parables. There’s nothing like hearing someone else talk about a vision you currently have to help give you encouragement.

Finally, I received a $100 Google Ad credit in the mail. I have used their service in the past to help bring people to my comic website. Getting this credit, out of the blue, definately gave me the message that I need to get back on the ‘net and tell stories! But, where to find the time?

20120301-204606.jpg

Then, I thought of an equation. Being an accountant by trade, numbers are often on my brain! The magic formula I thought of was 365 x 1 = 9. Or, to elaborate to the point where that equation is actually somewhat accurate, 365 days of spending one hour working on my craft means that, at the end of the year, I’ve spent 9 weeks (in terms of full time work at 40 hours/week) telling the story God has put on my heart.

I’m not sure if I’ll really have a whole hour every day…of if I can make it work..but it’s a goal.  By God’s Grace, I’ve done a decent job of finding time for exercise, doing chores, keeping up with job, etc.  I know that by His Grace, He can help me with this, as well.

By the way, if you’re a Christian, and you have a story to tell, now is a great time to get that story told on Cyberlight.  Over the upcoming few months, I’ll be working with some friends to really spruce it up a bit, reorganize, and get some advertisement out there.  While we’ve traditionally stuck to comics (it’s in the name, after all), we’re also accepting straight up novel style writing.  In fact, as mentioned in previous blog entries, I am using a similar format with my own comic, Wildlight.

There’s more coming soon.  As they say in the TV biz, stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

