The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

Update

Salutations!

I’m pretty sure that only I and about one or two of my friends read this blog.  A need for an ‘update’ when I’ve been away for a while seems redundant, since they mostly  keep up with me via telephone.  Regardless, since I’m trying to improve my writing, I concluded it would be a good idea to write a summary.

Over the last few months, many things have occupied my time.  Work, chores, running errands, doing some Pathfinder sessions with friends, exercise and finally, relaxing on the weekend a bit have all competed with my tight availability of that precious resource known as time.  It’s easy to get discouraged when one has a vision, and that vision seems perpetually delayed by business.  Is it truly that I have no free time, or a lack of discipline on my part to say “no” to things which really do not contribute to God’s plans for my life.  I have to pray constinatly for God to help me with that.

On the bright side, recently, I dropped a weekly commitment that I had before.  This has freed up a weeknight for me.  So, I will do my best to leverage that free time to write more.  I do expect that I will definitely be doing a lot more than I have been doing the last couple of months.

Many people ask me why I allow my life to be so busy.   Paul likens the life of the righteous as race.

“Know ye not that they which run in a race run all,
but one receiveth the prize? So run, that ye may obtain.
And every man that striveth for the mastery is temperate in all things.
Now they do it to obtain a corruptible crown; but we an incorruptible.
I therefore run, not as one that beateth the air:
But I keep under my body, and bring it into subjection:
lest that by any means when I have preached to others,
I myself should be a castaway.” (1 Corin 9:24-27)

So, I do keep myself quite busy with physical, social and mental activities, so that I won’t be disqualified.  What about you?

Leave a Reply

