The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

The Bread of Life Part 2

This is a continuation of my study on John 6:22-71 .

Back to the passage at hand, we must recognize that Jesus sustains us.  He is our life, and without Him, we are worse than dead. These verses also tie in strongly with   John 1:1-16 , which explain that Jesus became the Word made flesh.  When Jesus tells us to eat of His flesh, I believe that He commands us to also study His World diligently.  Which brings me to my second point.

Many of us, myself included, do not spend enough time in God’s Word.  Many who call themselves Christian do not study at all!  The rate of Bible illiteracy scares me.  One afternoon, I drove a friend to work.  A long time member of a southern Baptist church, I hoped that we could connect on a few spiritual matters.  I played a song that reference a well-known Bible verse, and attempted to use that to launch a discussion.  To my surprise, she knew nothing of it.  I asked her a few other questions about the Bible, including John 3.16 (which always stuck out to me as a very memorable passage).  She knew none of them.

Months later, I saw her involved in some activities that no Christian should ever be a part of.

In a world filled with incredible darkness, we need God’s Word now more than ever.

I cannot speak for others, but I can tell you that those times in my life where I got away from God’s Word, I got away from God.  Sin prevailed in my life during those dark times.  If you love God, you love His Word.  If one does not hunger for His Word, one has cause for concern.

Leave a Reply

