The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

Be a Servant

14 Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. 15 I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you. 16 Very truly I tell you, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. 17 Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them. John 13

People have often asked about my handle (aka internet nickname), “JCServant.”  Since I joined the internet in the late 90’s, for nearly two decades now, I have used it exclusively as my online moniker.

In the Bible, Jesus commands us to love one another.  He continuously demonstrated this love over and over.  His death, on the cross, put an exclamation point on that command.  “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” (John 3.16)

Today, in our films, literature and various entertainment media, creators convince the masses that lust, sex and quick romance represent the core qualities of love.  While Jesus showed us selfless acts of sacrifice, our culture shows us selfish fulfillment of fantasy, romance and desires.  As a culture, we embrace the heroes of the big screen who fall in love by the end of the film.  At the same time, we abhor the idea of ever living the life of a servant.  Over the years, it became a dirty word.

Yet, to serve is the true definition of love.  If you want to understand the heart of Jesus, and follow the will of God, you have to become a servant.

And to follow that path means much more than donating some time, money or talent here and there.  A servant gives all he has throughout his life to please his master.  He generally has few rights, or possessions, as he seeks his master’s pleasure before his own.

I could go into a lot more detail.  However, these points alone are very hard for most people to think through, much less accept.  We learn from an early age that, as Americans, we live to pursue our own pleasures and happiness.  A week scarcely passes by that I do not hear at least one person use their own happiness as support for a recently made decision.  Somehow, “Happiness” has become acceptable justification for the selfish decisions we make.  A servant never puts his own happiness first.

Now, I wish I could say that I do a fabulous job of following my own teachings here.  Unfortunately, I fall short of the mark only too often.  However, I continue to use the handle, “JCServant” to this day, to represent the ultimate goal for myself.  Each day, I strive to live as a servant of my Lord, Jesus Christ, by loving and serving my fellow man.  By His grace alone, each day, I learn a little more about how to reach that goal.

Leave a Reply

