The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

Jesus Sixth Miracle

Note This is sixth of a series of articles I’m writing regarding the 7 miracles of Jesus as seen in the book of John.  This journey asks important questions about each of these events.  You can read the prior ones in Part 1Part 2 , Part 3Part 4 and Part 5

The sixth miracle contains a number of interesting points, found at the beginning of John chapter 9.

As he went along, he saw a man blind from birth. 2 His disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?”

3 “Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the works of God might be displayed in him. 4 As long as it is day, we must do the works of him who sent me. Night is coming, when no one can work.5 While I am in the world, I am the light of the world.”

6 After saying this, he spit on the ground, made some mud with the saliva, and put it on the man’s eyes. 7 “Go,” he told him, “wash in the Pool of Siloam” (this word means “Sent”). So the man went and washed, and came home seeing.

8 His neighbors and those who had formerly seen him begging asked, “Isn’t this the same man who used to sit and beg?” 9 Some claimed that he was.

Others said, “No, he only looks like him.”

But he himself insisted, “I am the man.”

10 “How then were your eyes opened?” they asked.

11 He replied, “The man they call Jesus made some mud and put it on my eyes. He told me to go to Siloam and wash. So I went and washed, and then I could see.”

12 “Where is this man?” they asked him.

“I don’t know,” he said.

 

1. What does this story say to you about people?
It interests me that the first question everyone asks is “What did this guy do wrong?”  We have it in our mind that bad things happen to us due to poor behavior/acts or just ‘rotten karma.’  Here, Jesus points out that the man’s blindness did not result from that, rather, so that Jesus may be glorified.  Therefore, we learn that quickly that God’s ways differ and purposes differ from what we think quite often.

2. What does this story say to you about Jesus?
Jesus states that He is the Light of the World.  Many now believe that our world is shrouded in darkness.  Therefore, we should cling to Jesus.  If you want a more literal correlation to this story, turn out all of the lights in the basement and see how long (without sleeping) that you can live without light in your life.  As soon as the lights go out, all of us seek a source of light.  Yet, in our spiritual lives, we sadly do the opposite, living without Jesus, in darkness, for decades.

3. What does this story have to say about you?
Unfortunately, I too have walked for long periods of time in the dark, spiritually blind to the world around me.  I need to come to Jesus, ask for his forgiveness, and seeks His light.  I also need to keep in mind that His ways differ from our ways.  When bad things happen, I tend to lean on my own, failed understandings as I try to come up with the “why.”  I should trust more in God.

4. Who needs to hear this story?
Everyone, of course 🙂

Comments on: "Jesus Sixth Miracle" (1)

  1. […] Note This is sixth of a series of articles I’m writing regarding the 7 miracles of Jesus as seen in the book of John.  This journey asks important questions about each of these events.  You can read the prior ones in Part 1, Part 2 , Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, and Part 6 […]

Leave a Reply

