The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

Plan for Success

Salutations!  Happy New Year!

Many people make resolutions every New Year.  Personally, I like to look at it as goal setting.  Regardless, USA Today gives some great advice in planning them out.  I would like to discuss this just a bit further, and share how I plan to use it in my own life.

When setting targets, use the SMART acronym: specific, measurable, attainable, relevant and time-specific. Norcross says that individuals must go further than simply saying, “I want to lose weight.” “Specifically, what are you going to do so that you can measure and track [your weight] over time, for say, the next three to four months?” he said.

ResolutionsPart of this process includes making measurements at specific times and recording them.  This way, you can see the progress you have or have not made.  If you fall short of your goal(s), or even slip back some, do not fret!  Instead of abandoning your goals, use such setbacks as motivation to try harder and perhaps come up with a different approach in how to tackle your problem.

Below I have listed some, though not all, of my goals, how I plan to measure them, etc.

Lose 25 lbs.  I started a diet about two months ago.  I was clocking in about 35 lbs higher than my ideal weight.  I’ve shed about 7 lbs thus far, so I still have some way to go.  I will weigh myself every weekend, using the average of 2-3 different weigh in values to help compensate for water weight fluctuations.  At the end of every month, I will do the same and enter it on a worksheet.  I may even post the variances on my Twitter and Facebook feeds.

Exercise 3 times each week.  I have a workout studio right across the street from my house.  Losing weight does not mean much of I lose a lot of muscle in the process.

Write More.  I dropped a couple of my weekly engagements to free up more time  to write, draw and create more.  I have specific goals in mind for writing.  I want to post here at least every other day, perhaps more.  I would like to complete one short story each month.

Create a Game.  I bought RPG Maker Ace on a Steam super sale the other day, and I would like to have created a simple, yet fully function RPG by June 30th.  Primarily, I’m looking to familiarize myself with the software more than anything else while creating a game that others can enjoy.  I’ll write more about that vision, later.

I believe we should seek to glorify God in everything we do.  The above may not seem like very ‘spiritual’ goals, but you might be surprised.  Overeating is a sin called gluttony.  Many followers fasted to grow closer to God.  Learning to eat less ties into very strong emotional bonds related to the over-reliance on food.  And, for me, in creating stories or games, I seek ways to glorify God in those works, in much the way the apologist C.S. Lewis did in his creation of the Narnia chronicles.

How about you?  What goals have you set?  Which ones do you choose to share or keep to yourself?

Leave a Reply

