The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

The Viewing Chapter III

Written in the same comic universe as Stardust and Wildlight, the following short story is more of a writing exercise than anything else.   Feedback is always welcome, and I do hope you get some enjoyment out of it. 

Previous Chapters

Chapter III

“You… you killed my brother,” Bill stammered.

“Please, do not be so melodramatic.  We just met.  Introductions are in order.  I already know who you are, Bill Kroger.  I am officer Clark, but you can call me Lisa.  Now, please, won’t you have a seat?”

“Are you… are you going to kill me now?”

“I can understand how this might be a bit unnerving, Mr. Kroger, but, no, I am not here to kill you.”

Bill quickly looked behind him.  “Where’s… where’s that other guy who was with you?”

“My partner?  Officer Patrick Stevens?   I thought it best if I talk with you alone, first.  I asked him to make himself scarce.  He’s probably grabbing some donuts and coffee.”

roomWhy…why are you in my apartment?  In the dark?”

“I have some questions for you, Mr. Kroger.  As far as the lack of illumination, I prefer it this way.  Let’s just say I do my job better in this environment.  Now, won’t you have a seat?”

“But…but, I saw you kill my brother!”

“Really?  Were you there when he died, Bill?”

“No…Not really…I…”

“Then how would you know anything that specific about his death…”

“I…”

Bill realized that this officer might be trying to lead him to a confession of his own.  He never got around to registering his special ability with the Department of Special Forces.  He read somewhere that they could lock you up for years if they found out.  At the same time, those who did register were often drafted into service for the department.  Bill had his own life to live.

Now, all that might be in jeopardy.  She could be here to kill him…or to take him in.  And Bill wasn’t sure which.

“I just…”

“Let me cut to the chase, Mr. Kroger.  The Department knows that you have special abilities.  Now that I’ve seen you use them, I have a decent idea of what one of them is.  You read your brother’s final thoughts.”

“How, how did you know, I’ve never told anyone.”

“Let’s just say I have abilities of my own.  And I can understand why seeing me  now might make you nervous.  My partner and I were the last two people your brother saw.”

Finally, Bill sat down.  His hands began to shake.  “So, you killed him then!”

“I never said that.”

“But you just said…”

“If you would let me finish, Mr. Kroger.  Your brother was already dying when we discovered him.  He had been stabbed moments before we entered the room.  He dropped to the ground, and bled out.”

“Why didn’t you call the medics?”

“His wound was too large.  He was bleeding too much.  I didn’t need special powers of any sort to see that the poor man was already dead.”

“Then you saw who did it?  You chased him down?”

“No, Mr. Kroger.  Whoever murdered your brother got out very, very fast.  We believe that he, or she, has a powered ability or two of their own which allows them to move quickly, or even teleport away.”

Bill sank down deeper into his chair.  His eye glossed over with an icy stare.

“So…so why are you here?  Why are you telling this to me, now?”

“Because, Mr. Kroger, we believe you are the next target.”

Continue to Chapter IV

Comments on: "The Viewing Chapter III" (6)

  1. lazarojruiz said:

    really good story.

  2. […] Continue to Chapter III […]

Leave a Reply

