The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

Bible Study: John 02

Salutations.  I’m reading through most of the New Testament, chapter by chapter, and logging some of my thoughts here in my journal.  I continue this study, looking at Jesus’ first miracle, and the clearing of the temple.

Chapter 2

The chapter begins with Jesus first miracle of turning water into wine.  There are seven miracles of Jesus in the book of John, and you can read my study on them here.  I will note that since then, I’ve read a somewhat convincing argument that Jesus turned the wine into grape juice, and not the fermented version.  For those who still hold onto that believe, I would encourage them to read this article.  Regardless, for my brothers who feel it is a sin to drink any alcohol because they are convinced of such, I support them in that decision.

Next, we read the story how Jesus cleared the temple courts.  I have attended a number of Churches with gift shops and/or book stores as part of the same building.  Now, at the risk of sounding legalistic, I would be very hesitant about having one of those in my church given what happened here.  Granted, we do not have temples anymore, but churches are places of worship and prayer.  Given what happened here, I would not want to be the one who made the decision to put a bookstore into the same building.

I tend to stretch this a little further, coupling it with the passage, “Freely you have received; freely give.”  As such, I like to err on the side of caution.  I freely give out all of my creative works that teach Bible values.  With that said, I do not condemn my friends who sell their works (read my article about “Christian Art and Entertainment” to find out why.)

JCServant

Continue to John 3

Leave a Reply

