The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

“I have been writing this volume while residing in Germany for a teaching trip. I am humbled by penning these 95 theses in the same country as Martin Luther did many years ago. I submit these to the evangelical church of our day and pray that God would allow anything of truth in these pages to bend and change men’s hearts back to God.” – Greg Gordon –

It is useless for large companies of believers to spend long hours begging God to send revival. Unless we intend to reform we may as well not pray. Unless praying men have the insight and faith to amend their whole way of life to conform to the New Testament pattern there can be no true revival. – A.W. Tozer

The following is my opening commentary to a study that will stretch over many posts.  May the Lord bless you through this shared study.

Forward

By Phil Willis

Thus far, in my blog, I have avoided discussing church or anything along those lines.  Yet, those who know me also know that I have deep opinions regarding church organizations and gatherings.  Unlike most, I learned most of what I know about Christianity from Bible Study.  I have attended church here and there, but never for very long.

church                Yet, every time I did, I found myself confused.  The modern church gatherings, buildings, organizations, and denominations conflict with the few church guidelines that I find in the New Testament.  Despite these issues, I tried, numerous times, to integrate with a ‘body of believers.’  Yet, each time, I hit a roadblock that left me even further confused.

I have no doubt that God uses churches to reach people with His Word.  God used a monarchy (government led by a king) for His glory, even though His original method of ruling the Jews was a judicial system.  He allowed a change to a monarchy, albeit with warnings of the challenges that would result.

Today, I believe that God does use churches, but that our church model resembles the Biblical New Testament model very little.  Yet, I expend little energy actually discussing those concerns.  I would rather spend my time glorifying God in my creative works, and seeking God directly, than attacking organizations made by man.

A few weeks ago, I ran across an article resembling Martin Luther’s 95 Thesis against the church.  This one, written by Brother Greg of SermonIndex, addressed concerns in the modern day, evangelical church.  As I read the list, I not only realized that Brother Great not only addressed concerns about the organization, but also concerns in many of our individual spiritual walks, as well.  Because I feel that this would actually help build people up, even as these church issues are addressed, I feel we can experience great blessings in studying this together.

In this blog series, I shall go through his points, one at a time, showing all scripture he references, and sharing my own thoughts, as well.  To read the full list in its original presentation, head over to http://www.sermonindex.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?mode=viewtopic&topic_id=31213&forum=35&start=0&viewmode=flat&order=0

Next Page…

By His Grace,
JCServant

Jump to Next page in series.

Comments on: "95 Theses To The Evangelical Church by Greg Gordon Intro" (2)

  1. Reblogged this on Bible Study Articles.

  2. […] 95 Theses to the Evangelical Church by Greg Gordon.  Read my intro and find direct links to the 95 Theses here.   For the most part, as I review these, I look for personal applications in our lives […]

Leave a Reply

