The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

Bible Study: John 16

Salutations.  I’m reading through most of the New Testament, chapter by chapter, and logging some of my thoughts here in my journal.  I continue this study, looking at the message of Salvation and John the Baptist’s Testamony.  I highly encourage you to read God’s Word for yourself and share your thoughts!

John 16

Here, Jesus starts off with disappointing news that the persecution will follow the disciples actions in the future.  However, to help cope with this, Jesus also indicates that He will send the Spirit.  The next few versus about the function of the Spirit does confuse me a bit.  However, I believe it indicates that the Spirit will give a guilty conscious to those whom He leads, to help them discern how wrong they were in their judgments about Jesus.  Jesus also said that the Spirit guides in all truth.  At some point, I would like to do another journal entry (after more study) on that subject.

Jesus explains the emotional roller coaster they will take as He is killed and resurrected.  He also indicates that the world will fill the opposite.  I see that often today.  As the world celebrates ‘freedoms’ as it shakes its fists at God, I feel my hear sadden.  Jesus then says that if we ask in His name, we will receive… though that clearly speaks to spiritual truth and matters, not whatever selfish material things we desire.

Jesus paints a very dark picture for their future.  Indeed, sometimes when we struggle with things beyond our control, we may feel as they did.  However, Jesus reminds us to take heart, for He has overcome the world!

JCServant

Leave a Reply

