The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

Designed to Worship

Today, I go off the beaten track a bit, to talk about A.W. Tozer’s book, The Purpose of Man: Designed to Worship.  Each of us asks the fundamental question at some point in our lives, “What is my purpose in life?”    A.W. Tozer answers that question in the title of his book, and explains that within its pages.  Today, I share some of my thoughts as I read through the first dozen pages or so.

purposeIn the intro to the book, the author talks about A.W. Tozer’s love for worship.  Tozer made worship of God a life long activity.  He would spend long periods of time just in worship, praying and calling out to God.  I often wished my own faith had that kind of depth to it.

It continues on to point out that A.W. Tozer’s love of God and worship would exceed that of his loved ones.  At times, his interactions with them would come off as downright rude because his mind was deep in worship.  He could eat a meal, saying nothing at all, while inwardly he deeply thought about and worshiped Jesus Christ.  Amazing.

I’ve written before about how we need to love God more than man, or even our own family.  Jesus spoke of that himself when he said, “If anyone comes to me and does not hate father and mother, wife and children, brothers and sisters–yes, even their own life–such a person cannot be my disciple.” (Luke 14.26)  I have had to walk a different path and split from family members for my faith.  However, A.W. Tozer takes this to higher level than I have ever experienced.

As I mentioned in an earlier blog, I read another of A.W. Tozear’s books.  It challenged my faith, and I felt that I need more time growing in my faith to even approach half of what he writes about there.  This book seems more logical to begin with.  Every woman and man asks, “What am I here for?  What is my purpose?”  The answer to this question lays out the foundation for how we view ourselves, and live out our days.  A.W. Tozer answers that burning question immediately in the title of the book.  I presume (as I have only read the first dozen pages or so) that he spends the rest of the book going through some of those implications.

We may know the scientific facts about how we came into the world, or why birds so beautifully.  However, science fails to answer the question why.  In a frail attempt to answer, it tries to point to biological facts (The male bird sings to attract the female).  Yet, it does not explain why the bird sings beautifully in a way that man also enjoys and appreciate.  A.W. Tozer shows us that it all points back to worshiping our creator.

I look forward to reading more of this book and writing my thoughts into this online journal.

Leave a Reply

