The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

Jesus Is Holy

I keep hearing (and reading) people say “God/Jesus is love, therefore, if He were here today, He would love me how I am.” Generally, this statement is used to validate someone’s lifestyle or choices that usually contradicts what the Bible actually teaches as right and wrong. Yet, to call God/Jesus loving only paints a part of the picture. Its like saying that an elephant is like a water hose because you felt its trunk. Sure, you’re kinda right, but if you stop there, you’re really, really wrong because you missed the whole picture.

God is also Holy and God will also judge us. The Bible makes that SUPER clear. We have one shot on this planet to follow God… and after that, the judgment. Yes, God loves us. He gave His Son on the cross to die for our sins. Yet, If we continue to ignore His Word and His direction for our lives, then no sacrifice remains for our sin, and the Holy God WILL judge us.

Along those lines, the next few ‘verse of the day’ that I post on Facebook and Twitter will deal with the Holiness and judgement of God…a lot of them will be Jesus’ own words. Please consider them carefully as you decide day by day how to live your life.  Later, I will return and add them to this post.

 

Mat 25.41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, 43 I was a stranger and you did not welcome me, naked and you did not clothe me, sick and in prison and you did not visit me.’44 Then they also will answer, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not minister to you?’ 45 Then he will answer them, saying, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to me.’ 46 And these will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.”

Mat 5.22 “But I say, if you are even angry with someone, you are subject to judgment! If you call someone an idiot, you are in danger of being brought before the court. And if you curse someone, you are in danger of the fires of hell. “

Leave a Reply

