The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

“I have been writing this volume while residing in Germany for a teaching trip. I am humbled by penning these 95 theses in the same country as Martin Luther did many years ago. I submit these to the evangelical church of our day and pray that God would allow anything of truth in these pages to bend and change men’s hearts back to God.” – Greg Gordon –

It is useless for large companies of believers to spend long hours begging God to send revival. Unless we intend to reform we may as well not pray. Unless praying men have the insight and faith to amend their whole way of life to conform to the New Testament pattern there can be no true revival. – A.W. Tozer

I am currently reviewing and commenting on  95 theses to the modern evangelical church “revised” by Greg Gordon.  The following discusses losing focus on what’s important in the pulpit.

Thesis 70

There is a great deal of preaching that amounts to a mere believing of the different theories about salvation, instead of persuading men to come to Christ and be saved.

John 5:40 yet you refuse to come to me that you may have life.

Colossians 1:28 Him we proclaim, warning everyone and teaching everyone with all wisdom, that we may present everyone mature in Christ.

2 Corinthians 4:5 For what we proclaim is not ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, with ourselves as your servants[a] for Jesus’ sake.

I follow many of the more popular pastors who teach fundamental Christianity.  In other words, I avoid the super popular ones teaching the prosperity gospel, or that God accepts everyone regardless of sin.

Yet, even among the more conservative pastors, I find many who waste much time in the pulpit preaching about theologies and theories about faith, salvation, free choice, etc.  We should focus on bringing people to Christ rather than waste so much time talking about theories.  I do not jest when I say that Satan rejoices that he gets children of the Lord to waste so much time arguing semantics.

 

 

 

Thesis 71

There has been a loss of the fullness and majesty of the gospel.

1 Timothy 1:11 in accordance with the gospel of the glory of the blessed God with which I have been entrusted.

Jude 25 to the only God, our Saviour, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion, and authority, before all time and now and for ever. Amen.

Romans 15:29 I know that when I come to you I will come in the fullness of the blessing[a] of Christ.

I will be the first to admit that I do not fully understand the majesty of the gospel message.  I must do more to make it paramount in my thought and speech, if nothing else.  As far as churches, I can only speak from the angle already covered, which is that men spend more time telling stories and jokes than they do reading from God’s Word and speaking directly on the gospel message.

Lest one think that I only critique pastors, I critique myself and my brothers in the process, for God called us all to fish for men.  Does the Gospel message flow from your language, or do you spend more time engaging in fruitless banter?

 

 

Thesis 72

There is little mention of sin or the depravity of man from evangelical pulpits.

John 3:20 For everyone who does wicked things hates the light and does not come to the light, lest his works should be exposed.

Galatians 5:19-21 Now the works of the flesh are evident: sexual immorality, impurity, sensuality, 20 idolatry, sorcery, enmity, strife, jealousy, fits of anger, rivalries, dissensions, divisions, 21 envy,[a] drunkenness, orgies, and things like these. I warn you, as I warned you before, that those who do such things will not inherit the kingdom of God.

Ephesians 5:5  For you may be sure of this, that everyone who is sexually immoral or impure, or who is covetous (that is, an idolater), has no inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and God.

I feel we covered this earlier.  In order to bring people to Christ, which we must (read earlier entries), we must show them their sins.  Over and over, the Bible shows us that all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.  “Roman’s Road,” found in the first half of the book of Romans, shows us our sin and our depravity. For, only when we truly understand that, can we truly see the need for repentance and a savior in our lives.

Leave a Reply

