The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

Dragon_Warrior_III boxSalutations.  RPGTrek continues with the well loved entry, Dragon Warrior III.  Each week, I plan to detail my heroes journey through mysterious lands and deadly dungeons for your entertainment. If you play along, feel free to compare your experiences and leave comments about the similarities and contrasts.  Please be aware that my journals contain some spoilry spoilers.  If that works for you, click on the jump button and step into the shoes of this Utahan polygameist!

Journey of a Utahan Polygameist

Dragon Warrior III – Part 2

A game within a game? I’m sold!

After spending a little time leveling, I gathered some clues and determined I needed to head north.  My party did not travel far before we came across a building in the middle of nowhere.  Walking inside, out of curiosity, I found a gaming temple!  Large statues of mighty men holding dice told me all I needed to know!  I found a curator who explained for the price of a ticket, I could play a very large scale version of Parchisi!  I died quickly, but after a few tries, I got a couple of handy weapons, including a boomerang, which hits all enemies.  Nifty!

I continued to move north and came upon another town.  They informed me that a bandit, who stole a king’s crown.  Well, we simply cannot allow that to go unpunished.  I headed to the tower, infested with monsters.  Why do bad guys set up their base of operations in caves and towers full of monsters?  Certainly those cannot provide the best work environment for their minions.  Regardless, I found the rogue, retrieved the crown, and even spared his life.

Freaky stuff goes on, at night, in these towns.

Freaky stuff goes on, at night, in these towns.

Upon returning the crown, the king lavished us with praises, and even ask me to take over rulership for him.  However, I had a world to save, so I politely declined.  He insisted many times, but I turned him down until he finally gave up.

I pressed forward north to, yet, another town.  There I discovered clues about a village of people, put under a deep sleep.  Eventually this led to the not-so-hidden town of elves who refused to say much to me.  However, I found a conspicuous looking cave nearby, so I dived right in.  After fending off hordes of palette swapped monsters, I found a ruby of some sort.   I took it back to the elves who gave me some powder to wake up the residents of the sleeping town.  Somewhere, in that, was a short tale of forbidden love between an elf and human.  I did not care, however.  As the world’s would-be savior, I had bigger fish to fry.

In the next town, I found another game temple nearby.  I picked up a whip which allowed me to attack multiple enemies at once.  With my hero, cleric and jester all equipped with group weapons, I wiped out groups in a single round of fighting.  Sweet!  However, bigger challenges awaited me.  Clues to a magical key would lead me to a dastardly pyramid in the middle of a desert.

The most deadly enemy around, bar none.

The most deadly enemy around, bar none.

Undoubtedly build by this world’s version of the Egyptians, the pyramid had traps, puzzles and plenty of mummies.  For the most part, proper preparation, including grilling residents for information, and patience allowed us to get through the hurdles laid out for us.  However, one obstacle proved very difficult, to the point of resulting in a party wipe at one point.  More terrifying than a mother in law, more deadly than dated mayonnaise, and more sinister than a lawyer…. the living, hungry treasure chest, simply called “cannibox,” killed more would-be heroes than all the monsters before him, combined.  I cannot stress this enough… if you visit the pyramid, be careful when you open a treasure chest!

At the end of the night, I found the magic key….

Part 3 now up!

 

 

 

15-Ass Kickin Time

Oh no he didn’t!!

I'm very tempted to  keep this for myself

I’m very tempted to keep this for myself

Suuuuurre, I would.  You don't know me very well, do you?

Suuuuurre, I would. You don’t know me very well, do you?

A little waking powder goes a long way, when the wind is right.

A little waking powder goes a long way, when the wind is right.

I love the jester.  Sure, he's horrible in combat, but who else can wear boxer shorts into combat?

I love the jester. Sure, he’s horrible in combat, but who else can wear boxer shorts into combat?

Someone needs lessons in customer service!

Someone needs lessons in customer service!

I bet this is an undercover cop trying to entrap me!

I bet this is an undercover cop trying to entrap me!

Fighting monsters inside of a life size board game is awesome!

Fighting monsters inside of a life size board game is awesome!

One has a goodie inside.  The other....

One has a goodie inside. The other….

... will eat you for dinner.  Which do you prefer?

… will eat you for dinner. Which do you prefer?

 

 

 

Comments on: "Dragon Warrior III: Part 02" (1)

  1. […] Part 2 is now posted for your reading pleasure! […]

Leave a Reply

