The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

“I have been writing this volume while residing in Germany for a teaching trip. I am humbled by penning these 95 theses in the same country as Martin Luther did many years ago. I submit these to the evangelical church of our day and pray that God would allow anything of truth in these pages to bend and change men’s hearts back to God.” – Greg Gordon –

It is useless for large companies of believers to spend long hours begging God to send revival. Unless we intend to reform we may as well not pray. Unless praying men have the insight and faith to amend their whole way of life to conform to the New Testament pattern there can be no true revival. – A.W. Tozer

I am currently reviewing and commenting on  95 theses to the modern evangelical church “revised” by Greg Gordon.  The following discusses church structure and culture.

Thesis 79

The evangelical church has many organizers but few agonizers.

Philippians 3:18-19 For many, of whom I have often told you and now tell you even with tears, walk as enemies of the cross of Christ. 19 Their end is destruction, their god is their belly, and they glory in their shame, with minds set on earthly things.

Romans 9:1-3 I am speaking the truth in Christ—I am not lying; my conscience bears me witness in the Holy Spirit— 2 that I have great sorrow and unceasing anguish in my heart. 3 For I could wish that I myself were accursed and cut off from Christ for the sake of my brothers,[a] my kinsmen according to the flesh.

Jeremiah 9:1 Oh that my head were waters, and my eyes a fountain of tears, that I might weep day and night for the slain of the daughter of my people!

I often feel that I lack empathy for people who do not know God.  I ask and pray to God to help me see things the way He does, so my heart may be moved the way His is.  So many head to hell, yet so many “Christians” do not seem to care one iota.  In fact, I often hear comments such as “Well, they deserve it.”  Ouch.

We should feel moved by the plight of those who do not know Christ.  If they do not change their ways, they head towards eternal damnation.  This thought alone should bring up to our knees, move us to tears, and motivate us to do all we can, by God’s Grace, to preach the truth to this lost and dying world.

 

Thesis 80

We need to have the gifts of the Spirit restored again to the Church. The one gift we need the most is the gift of prophecy.

2 Timothy 4:2 preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, and exhort, with complete patience and teaching.

1 Corinthians 14:39 So, my brothers, earnestly desire to prophesy, and do not forbid speaking in tongues.

1 Corinthians 12:31 But earnestly desire the higher gifts.  And I will show you a still more excellent way.

The Word makes clear that each of us should have gifts used to help equip the body to do the Work of God.  Yet, the vast majority of people simply go to listen and receive.  I do believe sermons and preaching have an important role in the church and in our lives.  Yet, the Bible shows that church, and our role there, should be much more than just that.

Prophecy, or speaking from the Holy Spirit to lead others, plays a critical role in helping the entire body to move in the direction God would lead them.

 

 

 

Thesis 81

The evangelical church at large has never been more frivolous about the things of God. A serious sober self-controlled Christianity is very seldom found or preached.

2 Peter 3:11 Since all these things are thus to be dissolved, what sort of people ought you to be in lives of holiness and godliness,

1 Peter 4:7 The end of all things is at hand; therefore be self-controlled and sober-minded for the sake of your prayers.

Jude 3 Beloved, although I was very eager to write to you about our common salvation, I found it necessary to write appealing to you to contend for the faith that was once for all delivered to the saints.

More and more often, church sermons and services use humor, loud music, etc to get their point across.  While I do not bemoan the use of such elements from time to time, when these characteristics become paramount, they dominate the atmosphere.  And, as a result, people do not feel the gravity of the spoken truth.

Leave a Reply

