The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

A Quick Update

Salutations.

For those who have wondered what’s been going on, here’s a quick update on my various activities from games to exercise to theology.

book

My wife bought the book, “A Year of Biblical Womanhood: How a Liberated Woman Found Herself Sitting on Her Roof, Covering Her Head, and Calling Her Husband “Master,” and told me that I need to read it.  I had no idea what to think about the book based on its rather long title clearly focusing on women.  However, I can tell you after reading two-thirds of it that this book is one of the best I have read this year.  From helping me better understand how to view women in God’s eyes to using cultural context to re-evaluating my role in God’s Plan here on earth, this book covers a lot of ground, but does so quite effectively and efficiently.

Perhaps, most exciting, the author, Rachel Evans, uses careful exegesis to explain key passages that, for centuries, have defined how we view women’s roles in the house and church… and just how wrong we have been.  Ironically, Shirley and I have never followed the traditional model that is preached from just about every major, evangelical church out there.  Yet, when asked about it, I lacked a great answer.  Some of the passages about women in the New Testament never quite lined up fully (in my opinion) with what Jesus taught, unless you stretched their meanings and intentions out quite a bit.  Yet, Rachel did her homework and shows the history behind the passage, and proposes a perspective that not only makes a lot more sense than what is traditionally taught, but lines up much better with what Jesus commands.  In a word, I found myself blown away, and recommend this book to both men and women alike.  Expect longer, deeper blog entries about some of the chapters from this book as my time permits.

On the exercise front, my weight has not changed much, though my waistline is down an inch or so.  I’m close to going down about 3 inches off my waist from the beginning of the year.  I increased my exercise duration and intensity, which seems to have boosted my metabolism to burn more calories.  Woot!  I still have pretty far to go, though.

On gaming, my wife and I have enjoyed Divinity: Original Sin.  While less than a quarter of a way through the game, we can wholeheartedly recommend this masterpiece to anyone who enjoyed games like Baldur’s Gate, later Ultima games, Neverwinter Nights 2, etc.  The game features a four character party, plenty of NPC interaction, turn based combat with positioning where elements/terrain matter greatly, deep crafting system, detailed graphics and music that immerses the gamer.  For better or worse, this drew my attention away from Dragon Warrior III on my RPGTrek.  But, fear not.  I have resumed my progress there, and plan to write another blog entry soon.

Last, but not least, I have to recommend “Star Trek Continues” to fans of the original series.  The latest episode actually continues one of my favorite episodes, “Mirror, Mirror.”  If you have Netflix, you can actually watch that old episode first, and then follow up with the sequel, made by fans.  Check it out, below!

 

Leave a Reply

