The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

Dragon Quest V: Part 2

It’s time to get married. Let’s do this!

My brother and I continue our RPGTrek with Dragon Quest V: Hand of the Heavenly Bride.   This game continues the Zenethian trilogy in epic fashion. In this game, you get married, collect monsters pokemon style, and travel the world to collect the hero’s Zenethian armor from the last adventure!  Does this game push the series forward, or does it knock it down a few hit points?  Your next RPGTrek story is only a click away!

JOURNEY OF A UTAHN POLYGAMEIST

DRAGON QUEST V: Hand of the Heavenly Bride – PART 2

 

My Kitty is all grown up!

My Kitty is all grown up!

While this game does not divide itself with chapters, par se, it jumps forward 10 years, making this feel like a natural starting point to for the next act of the play, so to speak.  I woke up with no items or equipment and a decade older, in the middle of a slave quarry.  I spoke with other prisoners, forced to work under the cruelest of circumstances.  Eventually, I found Harry, the bratty prince from earlier.  Clearly more mature, Harry joined me as we jumped a guard who beat down one of the lady prisoners.  We got smacked down and thrown into a prison, only to be released by one of the guards.  Apparently, we saved his sister, Maria.  So he decided to let all three of us escape by barrel to avoid her suffering a worse fate in the future.

And, yes, I said, “escape by barrel”

We are squeezed into a barrel where we floated for at least a day before hitting land, thankfully, near a church.  Maria quickly left our group to join these nuns, while Harry and I headed toward the aptly named Fortuna, where good fortunes await!  There, we found a bustling town with countless shops and people to talk to.  One of them, and old man, explained that if we could obtain a caravan, he would assist us in recruiting monsters into our group.  We found someone close who sold us one for a measly 300G, and we went to work rounding out our party.

An "Urnexpected".  Get it?  LOL

An “Urnexpected”. Get it? LOL

After that, we decided to visit my old stomping ground of Whealbrook.   Unfortunately, it had suffered miserably at the hands (claws and teeth) of monsters some time ago, leaving only a few residents.  One of them lent us a raft to go back into the cave that I found the healing herb in many years ago.  This time, the prince and I found a camp left empty by my old man.  He had a touching note re-affirming that mother still lived somewhere, and that I needed to collect the Zenthian gear wielded by the hero so long ago.  He had collected one piece, the sword, which I found nearby.  Unfortunately, I could not wield it, myself, so I popped it into my bag.

We headed over to Roundbeck, where I found most of the people still there, though a bit older.  Many expressed elation upon meeting me.  “Oh, my, you HAVE grown!”  We chatted with numerous residents there, and found that our childhood friend, Bianca, and her papa, had moved on to another land.  At the same time, we heard disturbing reports about Coburg, the prince’s hometown.  Without the internet, we relied on town gossip for news, after all.  Harry wished to return, and with no other destination on our short bucket list, I agreed.

We returned to Coburg to find that the queen drove people into the ground.  Morale hit rock bottom, and some people even moves out of the town.  We tried to enter the castle, but the guards stonewalled us at every doorway.  Thankfully, Harry remembered a backway through a basement or sewer.  Of course, this mean fighting.  I always found it interesting how monsters thrive in the bowels of any castle, where the monarch lives only a floor or two above.  These leaders really need to hire better pest control lest some lich or basilisk work its way up the stairs and kill the entire royal family line!

Fight for your woman's hand.

Want a mud bath?

Eventually, we find a diary explaining that we needed a mirror to reveal the true nature of our foe.  Luckily, a transported nearby warped us near the tower holding such treasure.  We returned to the monastery, however, for we needed Maria’s help to open the tower doors.  Eventually, we found the fabled Mirror of Ra and returned.  We released the real queen (I failed to mention we found her, in the basement, with all of the monsters, quite alive.  And, at one point, the reigning prince, Wilbur, could not figure out which one was his real mother.  Using the mirror, we exposed the enemy, then quickly defeated the monster.

Harry decided that he needed to stay behind and help put the kingdom back in order.  Maria must have fallen in love with him during our 20 minute tower trip, for when I would return later on, they each had a ring on the other’s finger, and a smile on their face.  I went, alone, with my monster friends, to catch a ship, as the news network…errr…rumor mill, informed me that one ship ran from Littlebrook to the western lands.

We (my monsters and I) hopped on and arrived at Lodestar Harbor.  It pleased me that, for the most part, people seemed quite accepting of the fact that I travelled with vicious, man-eating monsters.  Talk about tolerance and acceptance!  In the new town, I found that a poor man begged for help dealing with a stalking beast which terrorized the crops in his small town of Hay.  I went there, found out that the beast hid in a cave to the west, and explored.  I found Purrcey, my childhood sabertooth kitten, all grown up.  He didn’t recognize me until I waived the hair band that Bianca gave me, in front of his face.

Ironically enough, the people of Hay hated me after that, figuring that I set the whole thing up to extort a bit of coin.  I wiped my feet of them, and explored a new town further south.  In Zoomingtown, I learned the spell “Zoom” from an old man, in exchange for an errand.  Using my new zippy spell, I visited my old friend, Harry, again, before heading south.  I stopped at an small town where the cable news network…errr…gossip discussed pending weddings.  A few of the questions the ladies asked me made me feel a bit squeemish.  I headed further south to the city of Mostroferrato.

Dragon Quest V Part 3 now up!

Seems like everyone wants me to marry!

Seems like everyone wants me to marry!

And this guy is trying to push his daughter on me.

And this guy is trying to push his daughter on me.

An "Urnexpected".  Get it?  LOL

An “Urnexpected”. Get it? LOL

It's the next generation of Cannibox

It’s the next generation of Cannibox

Fight for your woman's hand.

Fight for your woman’s hand.

No pressure at all.

No pressure at all.

I"m now a polygamist.  Scary.

I”m now a polygamist. Scary.

A couple that fights together, STAYS together.

A couple that fights together, STAYS together.

We conquer mountains.

We conquer mountains.

Is there an elevator?  We need to get to that building.  Down. There.

Is there an elevator? We need to get to that building. Down. There.

 

Comments on: "Dragon Quest V: Part 2" (3)

  1. […] This ended the first chapter of the game.  The next scene opens ten years later in a slave quarry… […]

    • Sorry to take so long to approve this. You can now post any time. (Sorry, I got hit by spammers and had to up the protection on the comments). Thanks for reblogging! I really appreciate it 🙂 Hopefully you will enjoy my future entries as I get them up. I’m working on Part 3 right now, in fact.

Leave a Reply

