The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

Dragon Quest VI: Part 4

Two time the words, two times the fun?

Two time the words, two times the fun?

After a six month hiatus (and side track with another series, I have returned to my RPGTrek with Dragon Quest VI: Realms of Revelation, as part of #JRPGJuly!  This game concludes the Zenethian trilogy in epic fashion. While you don’t get married, or have kids, you do meet a lot of new friends and search for your ture self.  And, in this game, you get adventure in not one, but two worlds!  Your next RPGTrek story is only a click away!

JOURNEY OF A UTAHN POLYGAMEIST

DRAGON QUEST VI: Realms of Revelation– PART 4

Sorceria shows off its pride...of Ashylnn!!

Sorceria shows off its pride…of Ashylnn!!

For the life of me, I do not recall how I got to the island of Sorceria, but I got there.  I remember it being raised up from earlier.  Anyway, turns out Ashlynn, the acolyte  (and member of our team) hails from this magical land.  Everyone expresses their appreciation for freeing them from their purgatory, and their pride for Ashlynn.  At one point, we have to scoop us some grains of sand (of time?) , or we cannot proceed.  Now, I start lookin’ for a dustpan, but we really needed Ashly to use the sand urn.  Because, it is not just an urn, but a vacuum.

At some point, after talking with everyone a few dozen times, we are told we need a carpet from a fashion contest.  With the help of the magic spell FAQ, I find the island where they hold these contests.  My party and I join, and have to win not one, but THREE bloody contests to receive the shaggy reward.  Now, a bit of frustration here… this section took me nearly an hour.  After all, the party not only has to go through three contests which moves somewhat slowly…but I have to swap a lot of items (and classes) around to maximize my “style” score.  This felt like a needless time sink that added nothing to the plot.

With a flying carpet, flying bed, submergible ship and a floating turtle island, we can travel everywhere we need to in order to collect the legendary gear.  First, we head to Weaver’s Peak, where this whole adventure started.  There, we run into … ourselves!  That is the hero’s real self.  Apparently, we were split into two during the battle with Mildew..errr…Mardow WAY back near the beginning of the game.

A home town on fire in a JRPG? Get out!

A home town on fire in a JRPG? Get out!

During our chit chat with the locals, monsters attacked, setting our home town on fire.  This is a classic JRPG cliché, but it usually happens in the first two hours.  Eventually, we save everyone and remerge together as one full hero.  Even more amazing, the entire town is completely restored after the event!  It must be magic!  We are told to return back to the castle to speak with mom and pops.

Of course, they greet us with open arms.  At one point, I’m taken through a dream sequence, of sorts, which reviews parts of the story from earlier in the game.  I found it helpful in recalling prior events (though, admittedly, at this point, I do not care about the plot much).  Our father then informs us that our journey to save the world now begins.  Between the town burning and this, I feel like the game is just now getting started, when, really, after 50 hours, I’m hoping I’m near the end.  He then gives me some fancy legendary helmet!  Sweet..just three more pieces left.

As I mentioned before, I gave up all pretense of attempting to figure out what the game wants from me next, and followed the sage, FAQ, to my next destination, the Crystal Catacombs.  The whole thing is filled with puzzle hallways, similar to the first few Dragon Quest games, where you have to take left and right turns in a specific order through a repeating hallway in order to proceed.   A few vague clues given earlier prove helpful here.  However, if missed, attempting to track down those clues would prove extremely time consuming.  Luckily, with a FAQ, I need not concern myself either way.  I quickly track down my second legendary item, the shield.

Yeah, this will end well.

Yeah, this will end well.

The mystical mage informs me that the third gear piece hides in Castle Graceskull.  Seriously, for castles, this name must rank in the top three of all time.  Upon entering, we find ruins with nothing but a lone man informing us of the obvious…that the castle has seen better days.  We find a well and, upon entering it, find ourselves in the dream world.  We enter to find ourselves in the castle before its downfall.

Inside, we find plenty of people discussing the king’s recent decision to summon a demon strong enough to beat the other demon plotting to terrorize the land or whatnot.  Now, I get that JRPG kings lack a connection with reality (and therefore, what we might consider common sense), but this just seems like a really stupid idea.  A few of the denizens agree with me.  Sure enough, upon calling the infernal creature, the king and his aides meet a quick, burning death by its hands.  The rest of us flee, but not before hiding the royal armor.

After we return to the ‘real world,’ we head back inside the destroyed castle to the basement where the knight hid the armor many years ago.  We do the heroic thing, shed a tear for the dozens who died, and steal the armor, claiming it as our own.

Whoa boy!

Whoa boy!

Finally, we seek the sword.  We start by heading to “Mount Snowhere.”  Honestly, between the mount and the castle, I can tell that the translators decided to just cut loose with the jokes at this point.  We find a town ravaged by a constant, near-blinding snowstorm and occupied by a completely frozen population (queue the music, “Let It Go!!”)… save for one man.  He tells us that he has no time for us (because, he’s such a busy man all by his lonesome) and warns us not to go to the shrine.  Well, we steal invaluable suits of armor, so we certainly are not going to follow directions given to us by an elder!

We head there and find a snow maiden who reveals that she froze everyone in the town, except the old man, because 50 years ago, he revealed the secret of her existence.  Well, that makes sense…punish an entire village because of one man’s actions!  She agrees to lay off the voodoo, and lifts the curse.  Back at the village, we talk to the thawed residents, including one who tells us how to get past the guardian in the ice cave to the north.  We head there and find the sword.

In a cutscene only found in JRPGs, another person runs up behind us, and nearly steals the sword first while we stand there and watch.  Normally, under such circumstances, I would stop the knave before he came close to my preciousssss.  But, turns out he does not want it anyway, for rust covers it.  Nothing in this game comes easy.  We find out that the man who can help us might be in Turncote, a town of rogues ….

One of you, two of me!

One of you, two of me!

Clues do not come any vaguer

Clues do not come any vaguer

They really shouldn't trust me with this.

They really shouldn’t trust me with this.

I have the POWERRRR

I have the POWERRRR

It is over yet?

It is over yet?

Wow...a rug. I'm so....happy.

Wow…a rug. I’m so….happy.

Mom always knows what I want.

Mom always knows what I want.

My buddy and me!

My buddy and me!

Umm....then don't! Really. Don't.

Umm….then don’t! Really. Don’t.

She hands out punishment like cotton candy!

She hands out punishment like cotton candy!

50 hours into the game, and I'm finally a hero!

50 hours into the game, and I’m finally a hero!

My high fantasy game just got a little lower.

My high fantasy game just got a little lower.

 

Leave a Reply

