The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

Random Game Ramblings III

JOURNEY OF A UTAHAN POLYGAMEIST

Random Ramblings III

09.09.15
I felt my first “Month of” after #JRPGJuly was a resounding success.  I have a lot of games in my backlog, and sometimes, I get stuck just choosing what to play next.  I enjoyed my two selections for #ARPGAugust, Diablo III and Heroes of the Storm.  The lack of participation from others on Twitter or any social channel damped my spirits just a bit, as only one friend jumped in.  However, I mostly do this kind of thing for myself, and if others wish to join, great!  It also gave me a number of talking points for RPGBacktrack!

steamLooking forward at #SRPGSeptember, I have Code Name: S.T.E.A.M and Disgaea D2 on my docket.  I started CN:S some time ago, but only go to chapter three before setting it aside for something newer.  I enjoyed the game, but got distracted by something else.  Sometimes, waiting to play a game pays off.  One of the biggest critiques levied against the game had to do with the slow speed of the enemy’s turn during combat.  With a recent patch, the game now allows players to fast forward past those sequences, addressing that concern head on.

I have enjoyed the Disgaea series from day one.  The blend of humor and tactical combat appeals to me.  I own all four on console, and recently added them to my Vita library (Disgaea in the palm of your hand…mind blowing!)  Aside from their hilarious stories, the games offer you various game systems and mechanics to ‘use and abuse’ as you see fit to make your demon overlord the most powerful, ever!  Disgaea D2 sat in my backlog for quite a bit, but with Disgaea 5 around the corner, I cannot put it off!

disgaeaPlanning ahead, I have chosen a GOG PC game for #ORPGOctober.  I do not want to spoil the surprise of which game I chose, but I did pick something completely out of left field.  I have never even heard of this 90’s title until a couple of months ago, but with a full five star review from a few dozen gamers, I figured #ORPGOctober would be a great place to give it a shot.  Once I finish with Code Name: S.T.E.A.M, I will go back to one of my Vita dungeon crawlers to get an early start on #DRPGDecember.

However, I would love your help with #NRPGNovember.  For those who do not recall, the Month of RPG list says to play a newer rpg for that month.  However, not familiar with newer offerings, I do not yet know what to plan for that month.  What do YOU think I should play?  Offer your thoughts and suggestions on Twitter or hit me up at jcservant at cyberlightcomics dot com!

Until next time, may your adventure bring you great excitement!

JCServant

Leave a Reply

