The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

Thoughts on Halloween

Mat 5.14 “You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that[a] they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.

BumbleTwiAround this time of year, my Facebook wall becomes filled with various thoughts regarding Halloween.  Some feel that to participate in festivities means that one supports the dark arts, or Satan himself.  Others feel that the day holds no special powers, rather, it simply serves as a reason to dress up and have a good time.  I see it as a way to connect to others and, hopefully, share the gospel with them.

First, I wish to point out that while I disagree with some of my brothers and sisters (in this faith) on this topic, I respect their viewpoints.  The Bible makes it very clear that we should accept others when they vary in these matters (and it specifically mentions the holiness of certain dates…and, by extension, the lack thereof).  Some of my friends point to some of the pagan origins of this holiday, and use that as the reason they do not participate in any way.  The Bible teaches us that, in such matters, we should follow our conscious.  Activities done with lack of faith constitutes a sin in most cases.

Second,  I encourage most followers who feel confused on the subject to check out this article by Travis Allen on Grace to 2015-10-31 18.22.01You’s website.  While long, it provides valuable insight into this topic.  Along those lines, I agree with his thoughts that there is nothing inherently wrong with dressing up, handing out candy or enjoying a few minutes with the neighbors.  So, I do all of the above, hoping the I will form relationships that open up doors to share Christ in the future.

This year, my wife and I dressed our cat up in a bee outfit, and I dressed as a pokemon trainer.  The story here, of course, is that I caught the rare “BumbleBoo” (We often call our cat “Boo”) with my Pokeball (Of course).  I had a Pikachu and over 8 lbs of candy.  This year’s turnout doubled last year’s by a wide margin, and I ran out of candy a bit early.

On top of candy, I gave out muffins and hot cider to the parents.  Many of them enjoyed it, and a few expressed surprise in just how far out I go to make everyone comfortable.  I feel that, as Christians, we should be hospitality experts.  Hebrews 13.2 reminds us, “Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it.”

And, really…what time of the year do you literally having neighbors and strangers tripping over each other to ask you for food?  Most Christians agree that one of the best ways to share the Gospel involves forming some sort of friendship and/or relationship first so you can show them the life of Christ up close, and then give them the Gospel when they ask about this hope and light you have.  What better way to start that journey than by answering the door when they come knocking?  It seems like something Jesus would do!

Leave a Reply

