The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

Choose This Day

seekI have a question for my Facebook family and friends. Do you truly seek after God? Do you seek after him the way you seek money by going to work everyday, or seek the happiness of your spouse by the little nice things you do? All too often I see people who think religion and faith is something you check off on a ballot box somewhere. When someone in the family dies, they know how to answer when the hospital chaplain asks which religion the family follow. Yet, on any other day, they act, talk, and walk just like any other unbeliever out there.

Jesus gives us a strong warning in Matthew 7. “21 “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven. 22 Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’ 23 And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’”

Choose for yourself, this day, who you will serve. As for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.

Comments on: "Choose This Day" (1)

  1. Jordan Thomas said:

    Always a good reminder that we need to always remember Him. John 21: “16 He saith to him again the second time, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me? He saith unto him, Yea, Lord; thou knowest that I love thee. He saith unto him, Feed my sheep.
    17 He saith unto him the third time, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me? Peter was grieved because he said unto him the third time, Lovest thou me? And he said unto him, Lord, thou knowest all things; thou knowest that I love thee. Jesus saith unto him, Feed my sheep.” Spreading His word is one of the many ways we show our Heavenly Father that we love him.
    Nothing you listed is inherently bad but it can be if we let it control our lives or don’t recognize that those things we have are blessings from the Lord. A great exercise I was made aware of this weekend is related to prayer. Many times we pray and ask for things we need or are searching for. The exercise is to give gratitude prayers, meaning that we pray daily and thank the Lord for blessings we have, trying not to repeat anything. It can really open your eyes to all the great things we have and show Heavenly Father we recognize the blessings he have given us.

Leave a Reply

