The journey of a nerd who loves the Lord

JCServant Update

My apologies for not chatting on here (or most social media).  Work has been taking everything from me, and then some.  I’ve had to cancel just about all of my regularly scheduled social life stuff, as I’ve been working late nights, and six plus days/week.

legiWith that said, sometimes I do have an hour or so before bed.  I’ve been playing World of Warcraft’s newest expansion, Legion.  As you have undoubtedly heard through reviews, they’ve really tightened up a lot of things here, and put the emphasis back on story and working with other players.  And, as they always do, they implement some of the best ideas from other games and people.  So far, I’m having fun.  Of course, I don’t have a lot of time, so while most of my friends have hit the max level of 110, I’m still below 100.  Go figure.

Outside of that, I have not had hardly free time to do anything fun, creative, or even make headwind into my college work.  Also, I have not really had a chance to study much theology.

Piper

John Piper – One of the most well known Christian Evangelical Pastors

Recently, I find myself thinking about John Piper’s sermon series that hit hard against the idea of retirement.  He preached that we should not really work hard towards retirement.  If you work with the thought of living your golden years fishing, golfing, and enjoying life, then you seek the wrong thing in life.  You should live to glorify God.  Therefore, you should not really think about wanting to enjoy life.  We should work to glorify God, not work to enjoy an earthly, fleshly retirement.

I understand that line of thinking.  Really, I do.  However, I do not believe that just because someone works hard for retirement, that it means they put earthly possessions and pleasures above God.

Work, especially in a career, takes a lot of time and energy that many people do not have as they age and deal with illnesses.  Others, like myself, dream of having the time and availability to not only enjoy some of the earthly blessings God has given us, but, more importantly, spend time studying His Word, doing more work that glorifies Him, and sharing myself more with those who need help, in Jesus name.

It’s easy to get caught up in the emotion of his message.  He preaches convincingly, and stabs directly at the center of American consumerism which dominates our culture.  However, by painting with broad strokes, we may end up missing the true point of living the Christian life.  Whether work consumes our days, or we enjoy God’s blessing of a peaceful retirement, we should seek to glorify God in everything we do.

baddie.jpgUntil we are called to His side, feel free to add me as a friend on battlenet, where I’m JCServant#1617 .  Help me take down this big, bad, ugly guy who is *clearly* evil!

For the HORDE!!!

-JCS

 

Leave a Reply

